Bringing together government professionals, academics, consultants, students, and citizens interested in understanding federal history work and the historical development of the federal government.



The Society for History in the Federal Government (SHFG) awards nine prizes. The purpose of all Society awards is to recognize and encourage excellence in the study of the history of the federal government. Awards and prize competition, judged by professional historians, archivists, documentary editors, curators, and preservationists, should help draw attention to outstanding and praiseworthy work. The Society hopes that the result will be increased appreciation of both the federal government’s history and the efforts of those who, through a variety of methods and media, explore that history. Each prize consists of a framed certificate to be presented at the Society’s annual spring meeting, held in the Washington, DC, area.

Henry Adams Prize — outstanding book

George Pendleton Prize — outstanding book

James Madison Prize — articles or essay

Charles Thomson Prize — articles or essay

Thomas Jefferson Prize — Documentary Edition or Research Aid

John Wesley Powell Prize — Historic Preservation or Historical Display

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Award — outstanding contributions to the study of the federal government’s history

Maryellen Trautman Award — outstanding service to the Society

Roger R. Trask Award — honors historians whose work reflects the unique importance of federal history and the mission of the Society. The annual award winner delivers the plenary address or, alternatively, participates in the plenary panel at the Society’s annual meeting; his or her remarks are subsequently published in the Society’s online journal, Federal History; and he or she receives an honorarium of $200 along with a certificate of recognition.

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/63/2831663/tmp/sess_28ssmtr5n7pq5rjnv4ie3opg11, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0