Bringing together government professionals, academics, consultants, students, and citizens interested in understanding federal history work and the historical development of the federal government.


Roger R. Trask Lecture

The Roger R. Trask Lecture and Award was established by the SHFG in 2009 to honor the memory and distinguished career of the late SHFG President and longtime federal history pioneer and mentor Roger R. Trask. The award is presented to persons whose careers and achievements reflect a commitment to, and an understanding of, the unique importance of federal history work and the SHFG’s mission. The lecture is given annually at the Society’s conference, and published in the next issue of the journal Federal History. Past honorees and links to their talks are listed below.
* * *


Samuel Walker


Don Ritchie


Victoria A. Harden

»» text »» YouTube (full lecture)

— — — — — — —
2014   Charlene Bangs Bickford  »» text »» YouTube

2013   Pete Daniel                      »» text »» YouTube

2012    Raymond Smock            »» text »» YouTube

2011    Philip L. Cantelon          »» text »» YouTube

2010    Richard A. Baker           »» text

2009    Roger D. Launius           »» text

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/63/2831663/tmp/sess_qjhjjsic7pfgdotqt8umj3dhl1, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0